Boys and Their Toys

For me, half the fun of a race car is the build and tuning. The more tools in the toolbox (toys in the toybox?), the better. On that note, I’ve recently picked up a few new “really ought to have” workshop toys. A buddy was getting rid of some tools, so I snagged a folding engine hoist and an engine stand:

20150112_135727

I also picked up some Cleco fasteners. These things make riveting pieces of metal together SO easy. I’ve known about them for a while, just haven’t taken the plunge for a variety of reasons. The time finally came, and they’re already making quick work of installing a couple of dzus fasteners to connect the corner of the bumper to the front fenders where we cut off a captive-nut tab to fit the 15x10s.

20150112_220112

20150112_220148

20150112_220913

I also used my new tools to build a new tool with which to store my new tools. Inspired by a PHOTO posted by a FB friend, I was thinking of where in the shop these should live, and that solution was better than anything I’d come up with.

20150113_224612

And lastly, Harbor Freight had a sale on 1000 lb furniture dollies. I added 18″ lengths of 2×6 pine to make a platform, and will use them as alignment stands. I still need to add stops at the front and rear to prevent the car rolling off of them, but for the price I’m pretty damn pleased with them.

20150113_213226

20150111_141318

Oh, you might notice that the car’s on its wheels. This weekend, we got suspension suspended, the wheels on, the hood on (needs to be adjusted a little more), seat back brace removed (as it’s unneeded for Solo), front tow hook installed, and the bumper removed for the aforementioned project. Progress!

20150111_153256

On a COMPLETELY unrelated note apropos of nothing: you know who didn’t think that “transmission bellhousing bolts” might just be the perfect hardware to bolt an engine stand to the threaded bell-housing bolt holes on an engine block? This guy. I was trying all kinds of jerry rigged shit when I realized “These are threaded… I have a bunch of bolts that will almost fit those threads… oh, look at that. Bellhousing bolts totally fit on the bellhousing bolt holes on the block. WHO KNEW!?”

20150113_125544

Leave a Reply

