Another wrecked engine

Well, it’s not beyond salvage, but it defeats the purpose of “buying a junkyard engine just to drop in” if you can’t just drop it in.

Anyway, onto the troubleshooting.

When I flipped the engine back upright, I went from being able to spin it ~360°, to being able to only spin it 180°. Weird. At this point, I was genuinely convinced I’d managed to drop a small fastener somewhere into the engine, and it worked its way through an open valve. So, before I approached the person I bought the engine from, I wanted to make damn certain that I hadn’t done something incredibly stupid. Given that, the head had to come off.

Good news: it’s not my fault! …this time.

Bad news: the motor is thrashed. It’s about as bad as I’ve seen from a motor that still supposedly ran when “parked”. It actually looks better in the pictures than it does in person. You don’t get a scale for the depth of crap built up in this thing. Apparently when I flipped it to clean the block and oil pan, it dislodged some of that crud, and that was fouling the pistons from travelling fully up the bore.

20150417_152841

20150417_152847

Given the state of the bottom end, I’m surprised that the valves were relatively intact. At least the head is probably salvageable, but I don’t think I’d really trust it on the car at this point.

20150417_154930

20150417_155013

Next steps are still TBD.

Leave a Reply

