This Engine is Testing my Resolve.

After the fun times with the exhaust stud, I’ve had 2 more stuck fasteners: an EGR bolt on the manifold that broke off flush at the manifold, and a stud on the back of the head for the rear coolant neck that also had to be welded apart. I finally thought I was seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I just had to take the front of the motor apart to pull the front coolant neck and replace it with a blockoff that’s threaded for the fan switch, attach the alternator and put a new Valve Cover gasket in and I was looking at swapping the engine in the car this weekend.

Was. Don’t EVER tell anyone that you’re “Only a few hours of work away” from being able to drop an engine in. Ever. It’s like the Universe is trying to tell me something with this engine, I swear… (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

The bottom end, whether the timing belt is on or not, and with the plugs out, will not spin 180° past TDC in either direction. It spins nice and free all the way to that spot, but there is a HARD stop at the 180° point. The plugs were in it until this evening, so nothing could have fallen in it. The plugs look fine, and the tiny bit of the pistons visible through the plug holes look in good order, but something’s whacked out. The only thing I can think of is a bent or broken valve, but why it would have decided now was the time to show itself and not before having it on the stand (or after, once it was back in the car), is completely beyond me.

Any insight from the viewing public (yes, both of you) would be incredibly appreciated. I REALLY don’t want to pull the head off this thing. If I pull any more parts off this engine, I’m basically at “buying another junkyard engine” worth of parts to put it back to right, which sort of defeats the purpose.

If you’ll excuse me, I think I’m going to go and pick up a drug habit now. It’s probably cheaper and less frustrating in the long run.

2 thoughts on “This Engine is Testing my Resolve.

Leave a Reply

